link to bcaMinnesota Predatory Offender Registrationlink to dps

MN Predatory Offender FAQ
[Print]     [Close]
What are the consequences for offenders who fail to register?
[DETAILS:]

Failure to Register is a felony in Minnesota.
Registrants who are prosecuted for Failure to Register face a mandatory minimum of 1 year and 1 day incarceration for a first time violation and 2 years incarceration for subsequent violations.
Additionally, the BCA adds 5 years to the end of the registration period for each conviction.
Failure to Register convictions that occur on or after August 1, 2000, and include a period of incarceration, result in a loss of credit for previous registration and a new 15 year registration period will be established upon the registrant’s release from incarceration.